What is the demilitarized zone (DMZ)?

posted in: Deutsch, Englisch | 0

Along with the 1953 armistice, a truce line (Military Demarcation Line) was set from the mouth of the Imjingang River on the west coast to Goseong-gun, Gangwon-do Province on the east coast. The DMZ is a zone 2km away from the truce line both northward and southward and military presence or deployment of arsenals is prohibited in the zone. The demilitarized zone of 248km inland and 200km on the Yellow Sea takes up 907 km2 of land area that accounts for 0.5% of the Korean Peninsula.